[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Plant and Page Contributing to Compilation

SUN RECORDS CELEBRATION: Various artists are getting together to record a 
compilation album celebrating the legendary Sun Records record label. Among 
those who will be contributing to the project are Bruce Springstein, Elton 
John, The Who, Robert Plant and Jimmy Page, Brian May, Van Morrison and 
Bonnie Rait. There will also be an accompanying film with interviews and 

The first recording session for this compilation has taken place at Abbey 
Road's famous No2 Studio at which three songs were recorded. The Italian 
singer Zucchero recorded a Charlie Rich song called Who Will The Next Fool 
Be, Brian Ferry recorded Elvis' Don't Be Cruel and Mark did a Jerry Lee Lewis 
number entitled Rock 'n' Roll Ruby. The backing band on all three tracks was:

Mark Knopfler - guitars/Scotty Moore - guitars/D.J. Fontana - drums/Marcus 
Cliffe - bass/Chris White - sax/Jools Holland - organ, piano.

The recording process has only just begun and so we have no information about 
labels or release dates but we expect that it will be a double CD. There are 
no plans for Mark to record any further material for this album. (08/05/2000)